Possible translations.

Can anybody please tell me what these numbers over my head mean? Chapter 1

Author: けだま@回復努力中

TN:Mamuni

I noticed it after heading into the living room.

For some reason, there was a circle above my mother’s head.

I don’t think she is wearing a hat. It’s like it’s levitating above her.

I don’t get why it’s simply flying there.

Am I half asleep?

I thanked my mother for the toast and munched it down. 

As my mother was cleaning the kitchen, that circle accompanied her.

I don’t get what’s going on.

After finishing eating her toast and drinking her coffee, my little sister got up.

And above her head, a 23. That’s unusual, my mother has a circle. I guess what she has is a zero?

Hmmm. My father already left for work, so I don’t know if he also has one.

Nobody is mentioning it, so I guess only I can see it? I casually grazed my hand over my sister’s head, but it went right through the number. They don’t notice it either, so let’s just leave it alone. 

I took my school bag and headed for the bus. 

There were numbers however floating on top of all the people who I passed by.

Most of them were zeros. A few times there was a 1 or 2, but my sister was the best so far. I wonder why?

Waiting for the bus stop I couldn’t help but tilt my head.

I counted the numbers people had over their head. The bald old man had a 3. While the tall beauty behind him had a 0. All three high school girls walking behind him also had 0. The salary man had a 2. But I can’t find a common thread between them all.

While I was deep in thought, somebody tapped me on my shoulder. Yeah, yeah. Good morning. Eh? No, nothing in particular, I’m alright. What, there is a quiz today? Are you for real . . .

Dangit. . .

Anyways after that I got on the bus with my best friend, who also has a 0.

Hmm. I feel like there are an awful lot of zeros, a lot of the people in my school have the same number.

I mean it’s annoying to have numbers everywhere. I want to just switch it on and off. I wonder if I can do that, so far it doesn’t seem like it. Oh shit, shouldn’t I prepare for the quiz rather than worry about this?

When I arrived in the classroom, there were various numbers I saw.

A Lot of girls had zeros, but there were some 5s here and there. The boys had wider ranges of numbers? Is it related to boys and girls? I felt like only the guys had some floating numbers on the bus. Well, no, not all the guys had them. The guys from my school don’t all have them or are the same.

Eh? Why do I look so restless? No, it’s nothing. I’m just thinking about something. No it’s not related. Don’t pester me.

The bell then chimed and I took my seat.

I thought sitting down would help put me at ease, but I’m having a hard time ignoring the numbers because I’m trying to see the blackboard. Though that fellow, Nakagaichi had close to a 98, what the heck? 

The teacher entered the room, and they have a zero? I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing. But as my eyes scanned the classroom, one of the biggest numbers was Shinonome-san(東雲). She had a 384. She massively stood out. 

So far that is the highest I’ve ever seen.

Is it a beauty score? No, there were many people who were good looking on the bus that had zeros.

Hmm.

Is it the number of times you’ve done naughty things? Well that wouldn’t make sense. The number of a mother holding her child was zero.

Before I knew it, homeroom was over.

Next is math. I prepared my textbook and left. There is a pop quiz for English at 3rd period, I’ll check my notes before then. I should be concerned more about the quiz, particularly the questions I might not know.

Lunch break went without any issues. The numbers on people didn’t change throughout the day. The pop quiz? Well I didn’t fail.

I took out my bento as my best friend came up to me. Oh, you have to buy bread today? Well, stay strong. You want me to tag along? Ah, I get it, don’t need to drag me. Just buy me a juice and we are good.

We traded omelet, fried chicken and yakisoba bread. I don’t feel like it’s a balanced trade. But it’s fine. Yeah yeah, I don’t care if you love me.

P.E is 5th period? I’m tired though. . . Regardless, I went to the changing room and put on my gym clothes.

Huh? Shinome-san, are your numbers increasing? It’s 385. Huh. . . I wonder if the other one’s increased? I can’t remember because Shinome-san’s numbers dwarfed all others. But why did it increase?

After dismissing my thoughts, I went to the field. For some reason I caught Shinonome-san sneaking looks. A beauty as usual. Along with good looks, she is athletic, with a perfect conduct, and excellent grades. God granted her two or three gifts.

Ah, our eyes met. I-I-It’s fine. We ended up just staring at each other for a bit. There was a smile, and a smile back. My best friend then bothered me besides me. Stop laughing at me. Whatever be quiet.

My best friend still has a zero. The P.E gorilla Hashimoto also has a zero.

Honestly I still don’t get it.

P.E today was a mile. I want to die. I have to try not to sleep at 6th period.

Once school ended I was preparing to go home and giving my goodbyes to my friend. I’m in the go home club.

While I was strolling down the hallway as usual, my homeroom teacher stopped me. Give me a break please. Huh? You want me to get Shinome-san too? Why? Oh, the action committee. . .Oh yeah, whoops. Well everyone went home already. So I need to get this over with. 

I’m not making a scene, why is everyone looking over here?

Sorry for making you wait, wonderful Shinonome-san. Nishi-chan called us over. Yes. Nishi-sensei. There is something to do with the action committee members.

We walked towards the staff room.

The number 385 is above her head. Should that be something to worry about? I asked her about it in an indirect way. Hey, um, do you know what the number 385 is? Huh, a riddle? It’s just a feeling. A hint? Umm, Nishi-chan is zero, Kannaka is also zero. Nakagaichi is 98. Um, still don’t know? What’s the answer to the riddle? Umm, that’s a secret.

Before we knew it, we were in the staff room.

After talking a little with Nishi-chan. Yes, yes, I got it. The athletic festival is coming up in two months, so there will be another gathering. What a pain in the ass. Glancing around looking at the teacher, Nishi-chan still has a zero. Tanaka from chemistry has a 5, and Hayashi from world history has a 13? Huh, still, nobody is close to Shinonome-san.

With Nishi-chan’s talk done, Shinonome-san and I left the staff room.

So you are going home? Don’t you have club activities? Oh, today is a break day? I see. Well I’m also going home. Is that so? Well see you tomorrow. . .Go home together? Uh, yeah, that’s fine, but are we going the same way? Because I want to stop at the bookstore. Oh that’s on the way? Well then let’s go together.

Ok I’m going home together with Shinonome-san. I’m really excited, also there is a new edition to the magazine I read. Why am I so excited? Because you can see the release date for new games in it.

After going to the bookstore together, we shared a cup of tea. Oddly enough, Shinonome-san barely talked.

I’m home now. And my little sister is in my face now.

What about mother? She is still at work? Oh, is that so? You are hungry? Make it yourself. What do you mean it’s impossible? You’re not good at cooking. Then learn. Hey! Ow, don’t hit me, I’m going. Huh? Why am I feeding you, stupid? I got it, I got it. I’ll make food, so don’t look so sad. Hamburger steak okay? Yeah yeah. Coming up.

My mother got home while I was cooking. Good work today. Huh? Put cheese on your’s? Got it.

I left my father’s portion still in the refrigerator. It’s better to be cooked freshly. So my mother will cook it for him later.

We sat down in front of the tv and ate. Looking at the television, I can’t see anything above the actor’s head. I guess because it’s a recording I won’t see anything.

Mother is still zero. My little sister is. . .24? Did it just increase?

The question list keeps growing.

When I got out of the bath, my father just returned, and he is a zero?

It was a good time for me to return to my room.

I’m exhausted from today. I have no answers for why I can now see strange numbers. I can’t not just look at them, when something new pops up out of nowhere it’s going to stick out like a sore thumb.

Honestly, why can I see these numbers? Okay, Shinonome-san and my little sister were the only ones that had their numbers increase. I can’t remember if there were any other cases. And I don’t know what they  have in common. 

I wonder if I will be able to see it tomorrow. So annoying. It may just vanish, seeing as it just popped up out of nowhere.

It was 12 o’clock before I knew it. I was stuck thinking about what happened, while also wasting time with a social network game. Let’s go to sleep. I’ll see what happens tomorrow, and worry about it then.

Good night.

Click for part 2.

2 thoughts on “Can anybody please tell me what these numbers over my head mean? Chapter 1”

Leave a comment