I was Reincarnated as a Side Heroine in a Yuri Game, and with all my Power I will Protect my Favorite Character

I was Reincarnated as a Side Heroine in a Yuri Game, and with all my Power I will Protect my Favorite Character :Chapter 97

Author: 長月 Nagatsuki 

TN:Mamuni

Epilogue

I woke up standing in a pure white void.

Naturally I immediately understood that it was another one of those dreams, but it was different now. The dreams in the past were always in a dark black room with a monitor which I saw the dreams from, this time there was nothing. I couldn’t even see the end of the room let alone a monitor.

I tilted my head in confusion. I was now being placed in this bizarre place, when suddenly I heard “Hello Sugimura Shiori-san”. I jumped up a bit in surprise. Before I knew it, there was a woman standing before me.

“You’re. . .”

“Ah, do you perhaps remember me? I was the one in charge of script writing for Fragmented Rhapsody.”

There is no doubt about it. This woman was the person whom I had given a gift to at the sales event.

Or rather, she’s so lively now! When I met her in my past life, she gave a little bit of a reserved ladylike impression, however now she gives off this light mood. Is this her real character?

There are various things I’d like to say, but right now her personality is not one of them. I have a lot more important things to ask.

“Why are you here?”

“I am not the author herself, but rather the author’s regret manifested.”

“Regret. . .?”

The word “Regret” caught my interest. “Fragmented Rhapsody” is a pretty good doujin game. The sales were good, the illustrations were beautiful, and it was a refreshing story that captured the hearts of Yuri Otaku everywhere.

Is she regretful because of how successful it was?

“My regret is that I wasn’t able to put the whole script into the game. I couldn’t save those two girls. . .”

“The whole story. . . wait, you don’t mean?!”

“Yes, I couldn’t finish the story. I wasn’t able to put in the salvation route for the two heroines. – – -and the main character being (Shiori Sugimura).”

I was barely able to keep my balance. I was shaken to the core.

No way, I thought I was able to leave the script by my own will, but was that all done still within the scope of the script?

“Originally after clearing all the stories with Aoi Shimamoto. There would have been two routes of rescuing, in which the main character was changed to Shiori Sugmiura.”

“Rescue. . ?”

“Yes, it’d be a story about the two heroines, Koharu who had an inferiority complex, and Sara, who was envied because of her looks. Each would have been saved by Shiori.”

In other words, there’d be a Sara x Shiori route and a Koharu x Shiori route. I can’t imagine how the original “Shiori Sugimura” would save them, but if the author herself says she would have, it must have been possible.

“Then why didn’t it show up in the game?”

“It was rejected because the original script was already getting too big, and because Aoi was already decided on being the main character. So there was no need to have the script rewritten from the ground up just for Shiori to become the main character. So the circle I was a part of rejected it.”

“Huh, I see.”

“Well, I also agreed to it. However, I always felt sorry for the girls that I couldn’t properly save in the game. I still have lingering regrets.”

She gave a clear disheartened smile, she kinda looked like a ghost. 

“That’s why I’m so thankful that you saved them. Thank you so much.”

I didn’t know how to respond after Regret-san gave a right angle head down bow.

Because after all, I was just unknowingly following along a prewritten story. Just like how Wukong couldn’t escape the palm of buddha, I couldn’t escape the script.

In other words, it was the scriptwriter that saved Sara and Koharu.

When I told her she didn’t need to thank me, the woman looked dumbfounded.

“There is no route in the script where both girls are saved.”

“. . .Eh?”

“In each route only one girl is saved. If I may also add, Shiori in the Sara route is not at all in love with her. It’s a friendship ending.”

“. . . .Eh!?”

Since it’s a Yuri game I definitely thought it would be about them falling in love, but it just turned out to be a friendship ending!? Also there was no route that saved them both? Does that mean in Koharu’s route Sara isn’t saved, and vice versa?

Now that we’ve become so close both sound awful.

“In other words, by the time you fell in love with Sara you already departed from the original script. The only thing that was the same was the setting.”

“Huh, I see. . .”’

I was so afraid of some invisible force caused by the original script. Despite that fear, I was already doing my own things. I wish I would have known sooner.

Then it’s okay to believe this love of mine is my own. And the feelings Sara responded with are not dictated by any script, it all came from the heart. I don’t doubt her feelings, but having the author verify it made me feel relieved.

“I’m really happy both of them were saved. As an author, the characters I write are like my children. I want them all to be happy. Of course that also includes you.”

“I’m happy because you created the most wonderful girl in the world, and she is with me.”

We both smiled and exchanged a handshake.

For some reason though, I felt like I would never see her again.

From now on, more than ever before, I will be living outside of anybody’s script.

“Sayonara”

“Take care.”

Little by little my field of view became dyed in white. 

In my fading consciousness, I swore I could see her waving with a smile on her face.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Floating atop of waves. It felt like I was being pushed out onto shallow waters. I awoke to a room that I wasn’t used to seeing.

As I moved my still blurry vision, I caught sight of a bright lustrous hair. And the owner of that hair was using me as a hug pillow.

Unfortunately I could not see her sleeping face, because she had her face buried between my breasts. I thought it’d be uncomfortable there, but the breathing I hear is regular and healthy, so she is probably fine.

“You’re cute even when you are asleep.”

I gently kissed the top of her head and stroked her smooth hair, remembering the dream as I did.

Perhaps the fact that she chose to see me on a day I slept over at Sara’s was also her caring for me.

If I had woken up alone after having a dream like that I’d be dying to see Sara.

“Uuu~. . .”

As I continued to caress her straight and easy to reach hair, I heard a small groan into my chest. After pushing her forehead against my chest and then tightly hugging her hug-pillow(me), she finally raised her sleepy face. It was like a small child, I couldn’t help but laugh at these series of gestures. Then she buried her face between my breasts, hiding as if she was pouting.

That part of her is also cute, but if I say that I wouldn’t be able to get out of bed.

“Good morning, did you sleep well?”

“Morning. I had a strange dream.”

“A strange dream?”

I couldn’t help but remember my own dream.

She lifted her face with a soft smile and said “Yeah in my dream I was a witch. I was at an amusement park at night fighting this woman with magic.”

“Maybe it’s because of the games I’ve been playing lately. I slept well but for some reason I’m still tired.”

“Hah. Well, try your best.”

“Fuu, well Shiori-san’s boobs will blow away my fatigue. But it was fun to go bang bang with magic. It’d be cool if I could do that in real life.”

“That so- – -, Hey if you were to be reincarnated in a game world, what kind of game would you choose?”

After she told me her dream I asked her that question. After thinking about it, she happily looked up at me with a smile and said.

“It’d be Animal crossing! I’d like to have something of a relaxing life. Or uh Pokemon would be cool, I like Pikachu.”

“That’s nice, it sounds like it’d be fun.”

“Yeah. But Wherever I’d reincarnated, it’d be nice if Shiori-san was with me. It’ll all be fun as long as I’m with you!”

“- – -!!”

After she gave a 100% perfect answer, I instinctively hugged her. A distressed shriek rose from her chest as I did.

That’s right, as long as the two of us are together there is no doubt we’d be happy wherever it may be.

Of course even in a Yuri game world!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Author’s After story thoughts.

It took two years and three months to deliver “I was reincarnated as a side heroine in a yuri game, and with all my power I will protect my favorite character.” but I managed to safely reach the finale.

At first I had a lot of free time due to the COVID 19 crisis, and I started writing because I had an impromptu thought of “Want to try and write an isekai story?! Isekai is really popular right now.” but I was surprised and am grateful that so many people ended up reading it.

Fortunately I was once approached about an opportunity to turn this story into a manga, however in the end I wanted to write at my own pace, so I gratefully declined the offer. I thought it was a waste and I am sorry for it, but I was able to complete this story in a way I was satisfied with, so I think it was a good outcome.

Thank you very much for reading until the end. After finishing reading this story, I’d be happy if you left thinking even a little it was “Interesting” or “I’m glad I read it”.

This is the end of the main story, but in the future I plan to write about their subsequent stories.

There are still many things I want to write, such as the side stories I could not add into the main story, and the sweet exchanges between two girls who fell in love, plus the occasional serious story.

If you don’t mind, please keep in touch.

Also I don’t think I’ll write about these in future stories, so I’ll tell you a bit of extra trivia about this story.

(About Yoko)

At the start Yoko was presented as a “Character who didn’t appear in the original script, but was a character in a scene”. 

Originally her relationship with the student council president was discovered by those around her and it caused a huge uproar. It was suppose to be the reason why the main character “Aoi” felt hesitant about her same-sex love, but that story was dropped from the script and the name Yoko never appeared. Shiori not only saved Koharu and Sara, but also Yoko!

(Shiori-san’s Name)

Shiori(詩織)’s name in her previous life was intended to be written as “”(Still pronounced Shiori) 

(TN: I believe I need to give some context. 詩 Shi= Poem 織 ori=Weave.  栞Shiori = bookmark, Not a native speaker so there might also be some hidden meanings lost on me.) 

It intended to imply “Shiori()-san” (A yuri Otaku who obsessively reads stories) who read the script, and “Shiori(詩織)-san” (A person who weaves stories) who writes her own script. However I never had a chance to use it. Although it’s a completely self-serving setup (laugh)

(The title “Fragmented Rhapsody”)

I was going to originally have the scriptwriter explain this at the end, but I didn’t want to write it down because it seemed like a superfluous addition.

It’s a deprecating title used by the scriptwriter after she cut the salvation plot from her story. An “Unfinished Love story”- – -> “Fragmented Rhapsody” Love story and rhapsody are similar enough in meaning.

(In the Salvation Storyline: Shiori x Sara)

In the scriptwriter’s setting, Sara is not gay. So the ending is a friendship ending with Shiori.

Shori-san managed to turn Sara’s gaze even though she shouldn’t be gay, so good job!

By the way, the Shiori x Koharu route has a love ending. Those two have great chemistry.

There are many other stories that I wanted to use in the main story, but I think it would be great if I could use them in an extra edition.

Well then, for those who read, commented, and gave your ratings, truly thank you all. Let’s meet again sometime!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Translator Note Now:  That was an amazing author note. And what a great ending.

The story is finally complete, if you happen to have a syosetu account I’d recommend you go to this story and 5 star rate it plus bookmark it. Link. It’s odd that the community here is perhaps almost the same size as the one there (At least it seems in engagement). The author doesn’t know I exist, and a sizable part of me is afraid that they would find out, because uh, the idea of copyright is weird in japan, it is all posted on syosetu for free, but still I would hate to be told to take this story down. Regardless, give the story the love that it deserves. It is amazing how much was foreshadowed, even from the title itself!

It was quite the fun journey, I randomly found this author while going through possible stories to do. I liked the short story they wrote and decided to give this one a shot. I don’t read ahead, so it’s always a gamble when choosing new stories. I’m so happy I did. This was my favorite story to translate. I have no idea how I’d find a story to follow this up. Honestly I’m lost with possible stories, so I’ll take recommendations. No promises on if I’ll do them, only hard prerequisite is it being first-person. If not back to the search bar. 

I translate as a hobby to practice Japanese and writing, plus also just for fun. The donation link is mainly to give uh relatives and friends an excuse for me spending so much time on this. I do appreciate everything I get though, really I do, it’s just not the reason I do this. I’d do it for nothing. So I will be picky about the stories I pick, no hard feelings if you recommend something and I don’t take it or if it’s different from the stuff I’ve done before.

Thank you all for reading!

Also we now have 250 followers on this blog. That is insane! ! Thank you.

Also don’t worry, I will be watching this author like a hawk for any new stories or extra side chapters.

Like if you did

Edit: New Volume is up and going. Click next to see it.

/Next 🙂

Also thank you sleffy once again I hope the epilogue stood up! And InaneAntics. I agree this was great closure to the story, the epilogue ties up all of the universal loose ends too. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and also yeah, the author is amazing. Plus 13 aroness. I appreciate it all.

24 thoughts on “I was Reincarnated as a Side Heroine in a Yuri Game, and with all my Power I will Protect my Favorite Character :Chapter 97”

  1. Congratulations on the complete translation mamunii! Congratulations Author (though you won’t see this)!

    Thank you everyone in the comments who made this a particularly special story to follow!

    Goodbye my 30 IQ points I lost getting progressively dumber as Shiori got more cowardly!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. …tbh the first part of this chapter scared the ever living crap out of me. I thought the author was gonna ruin the entire story with a new, completely unnecessary plot point.
    Well thank god that didn’t happen xd
    For now tho, until this series get a sequel (prayge), or until you pick up another story, thank you so much for your hardwork!

    P/s: pls pick up A Maiden’s Unwanted Heroic Epic, that novel is like my favorite ever but the previous TL dropped it because of irl stuffs. It’s a completely different style of story compared to this one tho, like sometimes extremely dark, but other times extremely cute and fluffy (and gay?).

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yess I second A Maiden’s Unwanted Heroic Epic, I really liked too and I’m dying to know what happens next! And btw it’s already completed with 260+ chapters with only 41 being translated.

      I hope you’ll find this novel interesting even if you don’t translate it!!

      Liked by 3 people

    2. Same, I was terrified when I first read that opening line. I was afraid it’d be the whole “It was just a dream.” and she’d wake up infront of her computer or something. Luckily that didn’t happen and she gets to live a happy life with Sara.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. this was amazing, there’s not a lot of yuri novels out there which are translated correctly so I really enjoyed this novel! Thank you so much miss translater! Looking foward for your next project

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m quite curious about how the Manga Adaptation would turn out (Maybe it’s still possible in the Future)? Also, is it possible for the next Novel to have the Main Protagonist with a Yuri Harem?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I’m honest, I’d bet the manga wouldn’t be finished. That happens alot, so I’m really happy the author was able to put her fully heart into this.
      Also maybe, depends on the story and if it’s an interesting plot. It is a gamble though, in my opinion usually harem stories end up being kinda samey or bland just because the attention is so divided between so many characters it’s hard to see a real connections between them and the protag. Often it’s only 1 or 2 love interest that actually has chemistry with them and the rest are filler. But there could be a story out there that changes my mind, it all depends on if it sounds interesting.

      Like

  5. Congratulations on finishing the translation. The number of dropped translations is so high that I waited to see if the translations would actually finish before I continue reading from chapter 20 or so (I think that was where I last left off). The translation quality is also one of the better ones compared to most novel translations from what I’ve read. Now that it is, I’ll probably go through the whole thing soon.

    For recommendations, are there any specific genres you’re looking for/avoiding? Also, are you looking for stories that are hundred of chapters long or shorter ones? Anyways, here’s a pretty short yuri WN you can check out: https://kakuyomu.jp/works/16816452218815407979

    Like

    1. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed it, and my translation. I try to make sure the grammar and writing fits English. For me it’s not just my translation skills its also my writing skills that I test. So I’m happy to hear you enjoyed it.
      Sorry but I’m about to ramble, but you asked for it.
      For novels uh, it needs to be first-person. Uh, genres I like to translate is Yuri, or even genderbender stuff. I tend to like fluff stuff and not too serious works. I’m not a fan of adventure works. I mean I don’t hate them but I find world building and action the more boring stuff to translate. I much prefer character interactions. Length I don’t mind long stuff. Like this being 100 chapters is good. I also like short stuff cause it’s not as much of a commitment. I don’t like stories that go far into the triple digits. Unless the chapters are short. That’s basically all my preferences. Of course they all change if a story sticks out to me and seems interesting. That is the most important thing. I tend to translate one-shots sometimes as a testing ground for the author. If I really like the author’s one-shot or short stories, I’ll look at their other works. That’s how I found this story.

      I’ll give the novel you recommended a look. I wouldn’t say 50 chapters is pretty short, but maybe it will be my new project. Also I never seen this website. So thank you, I got a larger pool to go through.

      Like

Leave a comment