The Struggles of a Young TS Yuki-Onna.

The Struggles of a Young TS Yuki-Onna. Chapter 64: Red Marks?

Author: citrullus

 

Character cheat sheet. This is mainly for me, and people who took a break from the novel.

Yukiya Kitahara(北原雪哉) now (雪耶): The protagonist. A junior high student, 14, and  now a Snow girl. Short black hair, beautiful pale skin.

Syuuji Kitahara(北原修司): Yukiya’s father, and owner of the Snow House.(雪乃亭) Which is located in Hyousei Village(氷清村)

Yukino(雪乃): Yukiya’s mother, and is a snow woman/ Yuki Onna.

Hazuki Natsumi(夏美) and Saeki Tomonori(佐伯智則): Yukiya’s friends and classmates.

Hikura Kouko(氷倉凍子). The evil young Yuki Onna. Sharp eyes, and long black hair. Reiko is her mom.(冷子)

Azusa Okamoto AKA Azuchi (岡本梓 ) Girl friend.

Mai Fujisaki (藤崎舞) Girl Friend.

TN: Mamuni

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

“We’re in the red. . !?”

 

Today is a holiday.

At the entrance of the Snow House there was a sign saying we were closed. 

The storefront is silent.

We can’t be opened all year round like those major chain stores. We also don’t have the money to hire temp workers as well.

However it’s not like we are all just taking a break during this time. My father has accumulated clerical work. And I’m helping.

Hand calculator taping, and rechecking earnings. I’m not going to overlook anything.

 

“This is crazy. This was our best month. . .”

 

I stared at our revenue for this month and held my head.

I’m so dumbfounded by how much is in the red.

Red, Red, Red. . .

I looked over the numbers over and over again, but no matter how many times I checked the profit and cost, we are in the red.

Despite the fact it’s the first half of the winter season. The Ski season. We even had my mother here helping us. . .

I tried to sort out house expenditure and it seems like there was a gap.

But the efforts of three family members, my mother included now. Yet we are having problems.

This situation.

And the height of the ski season will be ending soon.

Of course, there are other events like the mountaineering in the summer, golden week, and a demand for a summer break, but the winter time is still much better.

. . .No matter how you look at it, our returns are terrible.

We have to earn as much as possible in the winter.

 

“I have to do something. . .”

 

All that remains is the last spring break, and the graduation season trips.

We can not miss these opportunities.

And in order to break even this quarter, we have to do something new. It has to be now.

I then remembered what I read in “Food Navigator”.

 

“The stores that have nothing to say are the stores that are forgotten.”

 

And that one nasty review struck the back of my mind. They also gave us a one star.

However, those points stick to me.

We are just a plain store. 

We have no gimmick.

 

“Dad, do you have any ideas for a comeback?”

“Hm, I wonder.”

 

My father then turned over the horse racing newspaper he was reading.

 

“Well, why don’t we advertise? Perhaps on the newspaper or billboards.”

“We don’t have the money for that,”

“What if we try one of the new trendy things? Sing, dance to advertise? The elementary and junior high school students today are pretty savvy with that.”

“If we had that talent, I’d be an idol by now.”

 

My mother hasn’t been here since the morning, so it’s only us thinking about this.

 

I looked closely at the earnings report.

Recently we didn’t owe anything. And the customer flow was also decent.

In other words, there should not be any net loss. So where is the money going?

I’ve already cut down where I could.

Even utility costs have been diligently cut. Which includes electricity usage, and I have to loudly tell my bath loving father to not waste water.

 

It’s not possible to reduce our own food expenses without lowering the quality of our meals. Our menu and interior would become mediocre.

But still I try to get the best deals for ingredients.

 

“Hah. . .”

 

I gave another heavy sigh.

There seems to be no silver bullet.

Fortunately we own our home, so we at least don’t need to worry about rent. So there is no immediate threat of being expelled. But there is a little bit remaining in the home loan.

 

Yet, I’m the only one worried about this.

I stared back at the accounting book.

 

“Hm?”

 

What? What is this strange withdrawal. . .

I don’t understand this. . .Wait, 30,000 yen!? What was that for?

It doesn’t say in the book.

 

“This 30,000 yen. . .What was it for?”

“A-Ah, That? I-I think it was used at a neighborhood association meeting.”

 

My father was suddenly sweating.

At the neighborhood association? Just for food and drinks?

 

“Isn’t this expensive? You wouldn’t need that much. Plus I don’t see any receipts.”

 

I gazed at him, and his eyes were shifting.

 

“O-Oh, looking carefully. When did you get so good at looking at accounting books, Yukiya.”

 

Rather than acting like a kid. I’m just doing this because my father doesn’t.

 

“What is this. . .”

“. . .”

 

It then came to me when I saw what was next to him. He then quickly hid the newspaper.

I just remembered that there was an outside betting booth that opened in the town center last year.

 

“. . .”

 

And the demon was released.

 

“W-Well Yukiya, how about stop! Your father doesn’t remember raising a demon. . .”

 

A small snowstorm then began in the room.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Another quick chapter, and I think this is a kick off to a new Yukiya problem. Well I guess money was always a problem, but now the irresponsible father led to more. I genuinely enjoy the responsible kid and irresponsible father dynamic. It fits Yukiya well.

 

Here is a donation link if you want to tip: https://ko-fi.com/G2G6EFF3#

 

/Next.

6 thoughts on “The Struggles of a Young TS Yuki-Onna. Chapter 64: Red Marks?”

Leave a comment